About the Indiana Community Action Association

The Indiana Community Action Association, Inc. (IN-CAA) is a statewide not-for-profit membership corporation, incorporated in the State of Indiana in 1970.

IN-CAA’s members (the Indiana Community Action Network) is comprised of Indiana’s 22 Community Action Agencies (CAAs), which serve all of Indiana’s 92 counties.

IN-CAA envisions a state with limited or no poverty, where its residents have decent, safe, and sanitary living conditions, and where resources are available to help low-income individuals attain self-sufficiency. IN-CAA serves as an advocate and facilitator of policy, planning and programs to create solutions and share responsibility as leaders in the war against poverty.

Therefore, it is IN-CAA’s mission is to help the state’s Community Action Agencies address the conditions of poverty through:

  • training and technical assistance
  • developing models for service delivery
  • and providing resources to help increase Network capacity.

The functions of IN-CAA include:

  • dissemination of information throughout the Indiana Community Action Network
  • the delivery of services in areas where local operators have not been available
  • the development of training programs that are seen as viable
  • implementation of practices that are best delivered by a central agency
  • and other functions that are agreed upon by the Board of Directors. 

About the Indiana Community Action Network

In Indiana, there are 22 Community Action Agencies that serve all 92 counties of Indiana and comprise the Indiana Community Action Network.

Each Community Action Agency periodically analyzes community needs to identify strategies that will work best in attacking poverty. Each CAA is distinct, because its programs reflect the needs of their local communities. These agencies are unique in their ability to deploy diverse program activities and services in meeting their mission.

Community Action Agencies operate an array of programs which include, but are not limited to:

  • Head Start
  • Energy Assistance Program
  • Weatherization Program
  • Individual Development Accounts
  • Homeownership Counseling
  • Owner Occupied Rehabilitation
  • Housing Development
  • Foster Grandparents
  • Child Care
  • and many more programs and services.